Created ten years ago, the Slow Food Awards winners are nominated by the public. Each winner is a champion of good, clean and fair food and represents the very best of their craft.

In addition to the public vote, each national director chooses their Person of the Year, someone who embodies Slow Food values.

Best Butcher                                  George Bower, Edinburgh
Best Baker                                      Company Bakery, Edinburgh
Best Greengrocer                          Phantassie Organic Market Garden, East Lothian
Best Fishmonger                           Welch Fishmongers, Edinburgh
Best Deli or Grocer                       Valvona and Crolla, Edinburgh
Best Cheesemonger                      The Cheese Lady, Haddington
Best Market                                    Bowhouse, Fife
Best Restaurant/Food Eatery     Errichel, Aberfeldy
Champion Slow Food Product    Colonsay Honey

Person of the Year: Jane Cooper (Pictured above – Image (c) W Barrie)

The Orkney Boreray flock is a Slow Food Presidium story. It was established by Jane Cooper in 2017 when she realised that she had the last remnants of the ‘Lost Flock’ of Boreray . Her core purpose was to protect the low numbers of Boreray sheep by creating a new breeding programme on Orkney to increase the population. Orkney Boreray now provides exceptional quality mutton to some of Scotland’s top Slow Food restaurants. In addition, the naturally shedding wool is spun, woven and used locally and the horn and bone is made into jewellery. She has recently written about it in her book The Lost Flock: Rare Wool, Wild Isles and One Woman’s Journey to Save Scotland’s Original Sheep

Nominated by Walter Mowat, Director Slow Food Scotland