Created nine years ago, the Slow Food awards are truly democratic – with no prior shortlisting, the winners are simply chosen by whoever gets the most votes. These Awards are so powerful in highlighting Good, Clean and Fair, that like last year, thousands of you voted over the autumn. Each nation has its own winners, with the highest number of votes in each category also being the overall UK winner.

In addition to the public vote, each nation director chose their Person of the Year, their stories are below, with one of those of winners being crowned Slow Food in the UK Person of Year as well.

Slow Food Northern Ireland Winners – Winners in Bold are also Slow Food in the UK Winners

Best Butcher                                  Seaview Farm, Bushmills
Best Baker                                      Ursa Minor, Ballycastle
Best Greengrocer                          Slemish Market Garden, Ballymena
Best Fishmonger                           Native Seafood, Portstewart
Best Deli or Grocer                        Indie Fude, Comber
Best Cheesemonger                       Mike’s Fancy Cheese, Belfast
Best Market                                     St George’s Market, Belfast
Best Restaurant/Food Eatery       Wine & Brine, Moira
Champion Slow Food Product     Ballylisk Triple Cream Cheese, Armagh

Person of the Year: Leona Kane of Broighter Gold. A producer who grows in tandem with nature, and lauded by everyone from the RSPB to the Woodland Trust. Broighter Gold are the exemplar for sustainable production, and Leona has a pivotal role within the Northern Irish food community.

Nominated by Paula McIntyre, Director of Slow Food Northern Ireland