Created nine years ago, the Slow Food awards are truly democratic – with no prior shortlisting, the winners are simply chosen by whoever gets the most votes. These Awards are so powerful in highlighting Good, Clean and Fair, that like last year, thousands of you voted over the autumn. Each nation has its own winners, with the highest number of votes in each category also being the overall UK winner.

In addition to the public vote, each nation director chose their Person of the Year, their stories are below, with one of those of winners being crowned Slow Food in the UK Person of Year as well.

Slow Food Cymru Wales Winners

Best Butcher                                  Oriel Jones, Cardiff
Best Baker                                      Pettigrew Bakery, Cardiff
Best Greengrocer                          Paul’s Organic Veg, Abergavenny
Best Fishmonger                           Ashton’s, Cardiff
Best Deli or Grocer                       Wrights Emporium, Carmarthen
Best Cheesemonger                      Little Cheesemonger Prestatyn
Best Market                                    Cardiff Farmer’s Market
Best Restaurant/Food Eatery      Wrights Emporium, Carmarthen
Champion Slow Food Product    Trealy Farm Charcuterie, Pontypool

Person of the Year: Jane Powell. An independent writer, editor and activist based in Wales. She writes about how our food system is an expression of the values we hold, and how it might change so that we can all become healthier and happier. Her work aims to create spaces in which people can be heard and make their best contribution. I would like to nominate her for her work on Maniffesto Bwyd/Food Manifesto – Creating a better food system for Wales, for her work on the annual Wales Real Food & Farming Conference and for her food activism both in schools and communities

Nominated by Debbie Handley, Director Slow Food Cymru Wales