Created seven years ago, the Slow Food awards are truly democratic – with no prior shortlisting, the winners are simply chosen by whoever gets the most votes. These Awards are so powerful in highlighting Good, Clean and Fair, that like last year, thousands of you voted over the summer. Each nation has its own winners, with the highest number of votes in each category also being the overall UK winner.

In addition to the public vote, each nation director chose their Person of the Year, their stories are below, with one of those of winners being crowned Slow Food in the UK Person of Year as well.

Slow Food Scotland Winners – Winners in Bold are also Slow Food in the UK Winners

Best Butcher                                  Oriel Jones, Cardiff
Best Baker                                      Hawarden Estate Farm Shop, Hawarden
Best Greengrocer                           Hawarden Estate Farm Shop, Hawarden
Best Fishmonger                            Simply Seafood, Tenby
Best Deli or Grocer                        Ultracomida, Narberth
Best Cheesemonger                       IPant Mawr Farmhouse Cheese, Clynderwen
Best Market                                     Haverfordwest farmers market
Best Restaurant/Food Eatery        Hangfire Kitchen
Champion Slow Food Product      Yr Ardd Fadarch Mushroom Powder

Person of the Year: David Lea Wilson. David has been quietly behind the scenes supporting Slow Food Cymru Wales from its inception. He is a huge advocate for Welsh business, and is supporting artisan businesses throughout the nation. Nominated by Nia Williams, Director for Slow food Cymru Wales