Created six years ago, the Slow Food awards are truly democratic – with no prior shortlisting, the winners are simply chosen by whoever gets the most votes. These Awards are so powerful in highlighting Good, Clean and Fair, that like last year, thousands of you voted over the summer. Each nation has its own winners, with the highest number of votes in each category also being the overall UK winner.

In addition to the public vote, each nation director chose their Person of the Year, their stories are below, with one of those of winners being crowned Slow Food in the UK Person of Year as well.

Slow Food Cymru Wales Winners – Winners in Bold are also Slow Food in the UK Winners

Best Butcher                                   William Lloyd Williams & Son, Machynlleth
Best Baker                                       Bill King, Cwmbran
Best Greengrocer                            Hawarden Farm Shop, Flintshire
Best Fishmonger                              Dai’s Shed, Aberdovey
Best Deli or Grocer                           Ginhaus, LLandeilo
Best Cheesemonger                         The Little Cheesemonger, Rhyddlan
Best Market                                       Riverside, Cardiff
Best Restaurant/Food Eatery          Tan a Mwg, Bronyscawen
Champion Slow Food Product         Halen Mon Sea Salt, Anglesey (available UK wide)

Person of the Year:  Aine Morris for the tremendous work she has done leading the Abergavenny Food Festival, and her unstinting support of Slow Food. Aine was nominated by Director for Slow Food Cymru Wales, Nia Williams